

Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

MAYLINN SMITH Presiding Officer Arlee, MT 59821

JEFF ESSMANN PO Box 80945 Billings, MT 59108 **DENISE JUNEAU** Bozeman, MT 59718 **KENDRA MILLER** 3734 Potosi St.

DAN STUSEK 3477 Birkland Drive Bozeman, MT 59718 Helena, MT 59602

RACHEL WEISS, Research Analyst JOE KOLMAN, Research Analyst JULIANNE BURKHARDT, Staff Attorney

LAURA SHERLEY, Secretary

COMMITTEE STAFF

January 6, 2023

Senator Jason Ellsworth President of the Senate

Representative Matt Regier Speaker of the House

These documents are submitted to the 68th Montana Legislature by the Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission. The submission fulfills the requirements in Article V, section 14, of the Montana Constitution and section 5-1-109, MCA, that the commission submit to the Legislature by the 10th legislative day the commission's plan for legislative redistricting based on the 2020 Census. The plan includes 100 state House districts and 50 state Senate districts, and it assigns 25 holdover senators to districts for the 2025 Legislature. The submission includes a report of the activities of the commission, a state map and regional maps, a table of House districts that are paired to form Senate districts, and other supporting information. The commission's website, mtredistricting.gov, has user-friendly interactive maps and the complete record of the commission's work to date.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeff Essmann, Commissioner Dan Stusek, Commissioner Kendra Miller, Commissioner