

MAYLINN SMITH Presiding Officer Arlee, MT 59821

JEFF ESSMANN PO Box 80945 Billings, MT 59108

JOE LAMSON 612 Touchstone Court 3734 Potosi St. Helena, MT 59634

KENDRA MILLER

DAN STUSEK 3477 Birkland Drive Bozeman, MT 59718 Helena, MT 59602

COMMITTEE STAFF

RACHEL WEISS. Research Analyst JOE KOLMAN, Research Analyst GINGER ALDRICH, Staff Attorney LAURA SHERLEY, Secretary

September 18, 2021

Dr. Ron S. Jarmin Acting Director U.S. Census Bureau 4600 Silver Hill Road Washington, DC 20233 Delivered via email to: Ron.S.Jarmin@census.gov

Dear Acting Director Jarmin,

The Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission is the five-member, citizen commission charged by the Montana Constitution with drawing the state's congressional and state legislative district lines. One of the challenges we face is how to account for incarcerated populations as we draw those lines. While the U.S. Census Bureau (Bureau) counts state and federal prisoners as residents of the correctional facility in which they reside on Census Day, many of our stakeholders would prefer that these prisoners be counted as residents of the places in which they resided prior to incarceration. We are currently exploring methods that our state could use to gather that residential information and adjust the P.L. 94-171 data that we receive from the Bureau. However, we encourage the Bureau to update its concept of "usual residence" for future census operations. Specifically, we request that the Bureau count state and federal prisoners at their home addresses rather than at correctional facilities. In addition, we ask that the Bureau allow prisoners to submit race, ethnicity, and address data through forms completed by the prisoners themselves when possible. These changes would create more complete, useful redistricting data for policymakers and line drawers in the future.

Thank you for your service and for considering our requests.

Sincerely,

Commissioner Maylinn Smith Commissioner Jeff Essmann Commissioner Joe Lamson **Presiding Officer**

Commissioner Kendra Miller

Commissioner Dan Stusek

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: SUSAN BYORTH FOX, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR . JOE KOLMAN, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION SERVICES